RSS Feed

Born to WaHI

I was brought into this world ” -1,973″.That is the search result for my birth-date (9-24-1958?). I came home to what is now the gentrified neighborhood known as WaHI. It was just Washington Heights/Inwood  then, a neighborhood in northern most N.Y.C., nestled between the Harlem and Hudson rivers north of 155th street. It was a mostly white neighborhood with a growing Hispanic population. It was my grandparents’, new home in the United States of America.

I’m a “New-yor-rican”, first born son of Dominican/Puerto Rican marriage. I was the first born in the states, on both sides of the family. I was to become “The American Dream”. I had a lot to live up to. I just didn’t know it yet.

About jrivera4

Loves life and those that love theirs.

Leave a Reply

