RSS Feed

We’ve Moved On

Posted on

Well we are in our new home.  We are 80% through unpacking twenty years of memories.

It has gone as smooth as we could have hoped.  I’m not going to say there were not moments, when we would have thrown each other into a packing box and mailed it to a far-way destination.  We didn’t.  We pulled together and made it work.  In five days we packed-up our house and moved it clear across this state and unpacked it.  It has been an amazing week.

The week was filled with some interesting twist.  I wasn’t sure about my transfer.  Cathy had to attend her AT&T annual two-day conference, in the middle of the move.  Meow, our beloved 18-year-old cat had to be put to sleep, and Kilo had to be “fixed” and d-clawed.  We had to figure a way to move, a 50 gallon fish tank and 35 fish (only lost 3 fish), not to mention the four cats.  The execution of the logistics (thanks to Cathy) would have made NASA proud.

I had a moment when a bucket lid and a fish hit me in the head during a very short stop on I-4, when I asked myself WTF.  We moved on.  Unwrapping a drain cover, the movers had wrapped in a half-dozen sheets of paper, made me scratch my head more than once.  We moved on.  Knowing that the neighborhood gathers across the street on the beach, to watch the sunset, every night makes me feel as warm as the sunset.  We’ve moved on.

About jrivera4

Loves life and those that love theirs.

6 responses »

  1. The next chapter in the life of John has me sitting at the edge of my chair waiting and wanting to hear all the details…like the greatest book one just can not put down and certainly doesnt want to put down. Hopefully I warrant an invitation to see your beach, your home, your family and the road leading to the journey you have begun and your steps forward…My love to you.

    Reply
  2. Hey John can you help me or teach me how to set up something like this so I can tell my lifes stories?

    Reply
  3. Elissa Rivera-Whalen

    so you moved on? 🙂 We’ll miss you. xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

